Skip to content

Me In 4 Slides?

August 13, 2007

dy/dan has been running a really cool competition on his blog based on the recent news that the Chicago Graduate Business School requires
all applicants for it to produce a 4 slide Powerpoint presentation as part of the entry requirements.

Anyway, as it coincided with the end of the holiday, I thought I’d have a go. The premise was to ‘sell yourself’ to your superior/school, whatever. I decided to go for the rather obvious chronology to my becoming a more reflective practitioner as I see that as being key to the future… I cobbled together a few lines and used some photos of Paul to illustrate (after all, he’s the one that really will see the future we’re beginning to create. Anyway, I see that most of the other enrants have posted their entry to their own blog and so I’ve joined the bandwagon… Here is my effort which, I have to admit, I’m quite pleased with (though I’ve got about 20 variations of the wording on the last slide, and I’m stil not convinced I settled on the right one… Oh well…

If you want to see the photos better, they are in a 4 slide set on flickr! You are welcome to take them and use them on condition that you drop me a line to tell me!

Blogged with Flock

Tags:

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2007 5:59 am

    Very cool Neil,
    i’ve been following some of the slides and you look like a winner!

  2. August 13, 2007 7:14 am

    I’d agree – I reckon it’s the best one there and will be using it as an example of a great digital autobiography. The English teacher gets taught, as it were.

  3. DorothyCoe permalink
    August 13, 2007 11:17 am

    Aw! The “I learned how to teach” slide! Brilliant!
    Dorothy

  4. August 13, 2007 4:05 pm

    Thank you folks! This was actually a really fun thing to do, and is easily adaptable for school use (I think). Maybe something along the lines of:

    What do you expect Secondary School to be like? (For new pupils),
    Or,
    In four slides, what do you need to learn?…

    Plus many other permutations thereof.

    I would have replied earlier, but sme of us have been in school for the pre-term INSET. Kids back tomorrow…

  5. August 13, 2007 5:23 pm

    Well cool Neil!

    Tess:-)

  6. August 13, 2007 6:27 pm

    Thanks Tess…

  7. August 13, 2007 11:26 pm

    Neil,

    It was brilliantly done. You certainly deserved to win.
    Congratulations!

    Diane

  8. August 14, 2007 7:43 am

    Excellent 4 Slides, a deserved winner.
    Congratulations
    Paul Harrington

  9. August 14, 2007 8:37 am

    Congratulations. This is brilliant.

  10. August 14, 2007 1:30 pm

    Congratulations, kid – great slideshow! (You are a clever little thing, aren’t you? ) :-)

  11. August 14, 2007 8:39 pm

    Fantastic stuff. Lots of ways in which our “learning how to learn” group could use it in school – it’ll be blocked of course!

  12. August 15, 2007 12:11 am

    Thank you for your very kind comments! I have been over-whelmed by the impact that these 4 slides have had.

    As you will know by now, I felt honour bound to decline the prize, but I do value your thanks and thinks!

  13. August 15, 2007 12:12 am

    Neil, I like the economy and simplicity of this; like the four movements of a quartet, it says it all.

Trackbacks

  1. Yah Win Some… Yah Lose Some…. « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing
  2. dy/dan » Blog Archive » First Place: Neil Winton

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,946 other followers

