Skip to content

Possibilities…

July 19, 2006

I’ve spent some time today looking at Moodle… and am very excited at the potential…

We went to the renovated Kelvingrove Gallery in Glasgow today. I used to visit the gallery a lot when I lived nearer, so I was keen to see the differences that two years of renovations could make. I was also keen to reacquaint myself with an old friend – Salvador Dali’s ‘Christ of St John on the Cross’. It’s one of the most moving and powerful paintings I’ve ever seen, but as I looked at it again, I realised it has something to say about blogging in education.

Christ of St John on the Cross

The figure of Christ is painted as if from above, whereas the perspective of the bottom of the painting is more straightforward perspective. It is a different way of looking at an old subject, just as blogging is another way of looking at communication and communication is, of course,the mainstay of education. Bloggers just do it differently… and then write about it!

Anyway, I need to go and look more closely at Moodle… but at least my spiritual tanks have been topped up for a while!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

