Skip to content

TeachMeet06

September 9, 2006

I’m getting really excited at the prospects of meeting up with the other EdNerds (?) at TeachMeet06! This is a fringe-like event which is to be held during SETT – The Scottish Learning Festival.

I have been lucky enough to have been allowed to visit SETT for the past few years, and I really relish the opportunity to hear a whole range of inspirational and innovative speakers. This year, however, I’ve got the added bonus of finally getting to meet a few of the people who I’ve only had the chance to read and exchange comments with… and this has got me thinking about just how ‘social’ the social networking of Web 2.0 actually is!

In previous years, I’ve gone to SETT as a bit of a lone wolf. I’ve had a great time, but I’ve never really felt as if I truly belonged. That sounds daft, I know, but it has a lot to do with whether you have someone to discuss what you’ve just seen or heard. Whilst I bumped in to a few people I knew, I think the added incentive of being able to discuss what we do in the Blogosphere and the classroom will add a certain je-ne-dinnae-ken-pas!

As to the sessions at SETT, I’m really looking forward to hearing Edward de Bono and Ladie Marie Stubbs speak. I know I will come away from both these speakers full of great ideas and raring to go.

For any Scottish teacher, SETT is a real highlight – two days of education, discussion, and all the new toys! I’ll see you there…

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2006 11:26 am

    It is exciting, isn’t it? I always love going to SETT – it’s great to hear how people have been using ICT in creative, innovative ways in the classroom.

    When we had the last meetup in Edinburgh at eLive it was brilliant to meet people that I read on an almost daily basis – it is wonderful not just to put faces to names, but to say thanks in person for all the helpful advice and support the blogosphere offers.

    Now, what we really need is to do this on an international level… willl that be ‘TeachMeet07’?

Leave a Reply

