Skip to content

Shiver me timbers…

September 15, 2006

Ahoy there, me hearties!  I be thinkin’ there be a fun lesson in this… Tuesday be International Talk Like a Pirate Day! I sense all sorts of shifty sea-farin’ shenanigans with me First Years…

Arr! Jim, lad! I be offerin’ a pot of grog to any like-minded souls who be goin’ to SETT and who be comin’ up with a lesson on Pirate Talk…

International Talk Like A Pirate Day is so ridiculous an idea that I know I can do something with it in class. It’s at times like this that I love being an English teacher… I spend all year teaching my pupils how to speak and write properly, and then I try and subvert all my good work with a bit of rampant silliness… which will probably be the thing the class remember long after they’ve forgotten about similes and metaphors and subordinate clauses and…

Yo-ho-ho!… get those sprogs walkin’ the plank!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. lucy permalink
    September 18, 2006 5:24 pm

    hi ya i like cheese do u like cheese i like cheese lol

  2. September 18, 2006 10:38 pm

    Now try it again in Pirate talk!
    Or should that be…

    Ahoy, matey! I be thinkin’ ye be not sayin’ yer cheddary chit chat in Pirate!

  3. Gordon permalink
    September 18, 2006 11:12 pm

    Gaar,
    Ahoy there me hearty. I took in yer blog and it rightly shivered me timbers. Off to splice the mainbrace and spin a yarn with me old salts.

    Gaar y’all,

    Gaar the Texas Pirate

  4. September 21, 2006 10:24 pm

    Arr! Really scunnered that we missed this one in the Muir household! I fear the girls became a bit obsessed about pirates a wee while ago… or at least about Johnny Depp. 🙂

  5. September 22, 2006 4:00 pm

    Avast! (A vast what? I don’t know, but it’s very very big whatever it is).
    My Higher clas were the ones who initiated me to this… especially the boys who arrived with big ear rings and eye patches… very hard to do Death of a Salesman in Piratese, but we tried! Yarr!

Leave a Reply

