Skip to content

Fly free, little bird!

October 6, 2006

I always knew it would happen, but it’s still a landmark moment. One of my pupils has flown the nest and now has his own wiki!

I’m only just beginning to appreciate the strengths of wikis over blogs, and only have one running for a class this year (my Higher English Class)… and now one of the Higher Class has set up his own wiki for his Higher Computing Class. The class are all signed up (so he’s doing better than me with my Higher Class), and their big topic of conversation at the moment is whether to let on to their Computing Teacher that they have this facility… I’m certainly not going to tell the teacher!

Anyway… I’ve offered to give advice if they need it, but I suspect it’ll soon be me that’s asking them for help… I hope so, I’m pure, dead chuffed at what they’ve achieved so far!

 

Technorati tags: , ,
8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2006 6:24 pm

    There’s loads of comment on how “wikis are better than blogs” at the moment (over on AB’s blog). I don’t get it. Each format has its own purpose, its own job to do. Maybe you realise this already but the wording in the post suggests, to me, that wikis somehow have more to offer than the blog. Am I reading into this the wrong way? Apologies if I am.

  2. October 8, 2006 12:20 am

    You are right about my ambiguous phrasing… I didn’t really mean to say that wikis are better than blogs. What I meant is that it’s a case of horses for courses… There are somethings that a wiki is better for and there are some things a blog is better for.
    From my point-of-view, I like the much more collaborative nature of a wiki for particular types of classwork… especially when the wiki has been set up for a specific group (like, for example, my Higher English wiki). In addition, the facility for members to be able to post essays and media files to the wiki gives it certain strengths over a blog from the pov of the classroom. Another strength is the ability to have a separate discussion on a ‘discussion’ page which the members can start… sometimes at a tangent to the original page (I’m thinking ScotEduBlogs now!)
    With a blog, we are dealing with a much more solitary artefact. A blog is very much driven by the personality of the blogger (and in my case, I feel I’ve adopted what my mother would call my ‘phone voice’ for my blog!)… The blog is driven by what catches the interest of the blogger and as such will always be a more personal beast than a wiki.

    Yes, we can comment on a blog, but it’s still the perogative of the blogger to allow those comments to see the light of day… on a wiki… it is the collective/collaborative brain that will dominate.

    That’s maybe putting it a bit too strongly, but I need to say THANK YOU for asking me the question! I’ve realised that this topic probably requires more thought and probably a fuller post than I had thought. I’m sitting here having to think about the relative merits of blogs/wikis and I like it!

    I shall return in more depth later!
    Cheers!

  3. October 8, 2006 11:38 am

    I knew you knew, if you know what I mean. It’s funny how lots of people are asking the same question at once. Take a look over to Wes Friar’s blog or 2 Cents Worth to see what I mean.

  4. October 8, 2006 10:46 pm

    Hi there,

    I’ve just started a blog about technology in education – and how to improve it. As I’m blogging my discovery of all things good/bad in this area, I’m just letting you know now, in case you can give me some pointers, or have a read at my half-baked theories on the wrongs of the world.

    Thanks
    P

  5. October 8, 2006 11:30 pm

    Fascinating – great that they’ve done this for themselves. Scary that the teacher is redundant? Not really – my pupils have been getting together in twos or threes to help each other with homework for years without my necessarily knowing about it. This is just the same thing, only better thanks to the [dramatic music swells in the background] awesome power of Web2.0!

  6. October 9, 2006 10:35 pm

    OK… you’re not going to grass them up to their teacher… but you can tell us. Is it a public wiki?

    This is something I thought about suggesting to some teachers I knew in the hope that I could watch what developed and talk to students and teachers about the process and what they learned. Any chance of seeing what they are up to? Ask them if they would mind a numpty from Jordanhill hitch-hiking on what they are doing.

  7. October 9, 2006 10:57 pm

    I will ask them if they mind. It is a private space (hence, I suppose, the discussion about whether to let on to their Computing teacher), but I’m sure they won’t mind.

    What I would say is wikis are a new thing for me and (I think) for them… so we are all just finding our way… which from a research point of view makes us the Liawep of the wiki world, or maybe not!

Trackbacks

  1. Fly Freer, Little Bird… « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing

Leave a Reply

