Skip to content

Put Another 50p In The Meter!

October 30, 2006

I’ve just had a stark reminder of how much I rely on the internet in my day-to-day life.

Last week was extremely busy for me: NQT observation lesson, visit to the Council’s central training room where I’ll be delivering a session on WordPress and Wikis on Wednesday 1st, contacted the Tech support people because WordPress is blocked by the Council’s firewall/filtering software, drove from Perth to North Berwick to participate in East Lothian’s Extreme Learning session, drove to Perth for a School Board meeting where I made a pitch for a new website (successfully!)… and all that was just Wednesday!

On Thursday, I was out of school all day at a training session for NQT Mentors. Thursday night was spent dealing with a poorly 15 month old who wasn’t really in the mood for being calm… Friday was a packed day at school, so it wasn’t until I got home that I finally got the chance to try and catch up with email and blogging… Except…

The Dell that is our direct home link has a dead fan… and Dell have stopped making them or supplying them… and then to add insult to injury, our modem has died and it will be Monday before an engineer can come to the house to fix/replace it…  the net(groan) result of all these mean I haven’t been able to connect to the internet for a few days and I’ve realised just how much of my life I live online nowadays…

Anyway, for anyone that’s been expecting comments or posts or email replies I apologise for my silence! I’ll catch up again over the next couple of days.

On the plus side… I’ve seen a couple of friends, and spent a lot of time playing with my 15month old. (Memo to self – must do this more often!)

Anyway, has anyone else had a similar enforced absence from the online community? What did it make you think about the time you spend online?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2006 11:12 am

    After a lightning strike at the start of May (knocked out 200 modems in the Dunoon area!) I was offline till mid-June because Demon wouldn’t believe that this was the problem. In the end they sent us a new modem – which didn’t work. We then moved to BT – but that took time as well. As I didn’t even have a workplace in which to go online, I drove my neighbours crazy. I tried to rotate them (picture?)but I felt as if a bit of me had been amputated.
    The garden looked the better of it ……

  2. October 30, 2006 11:19 am

    Great to see you back Neil! I met an old friend on the train recently who is now studying to be a teacher of English and I said I would get them in touch with you and how you are using ICT of you don’t mind?

    It was very worrying for me when I finally bit the bullet and added up the time I spent online in a typical week. Whilst this is connecting with people, it is no substitute for face to face human interaction. We are social animals, and so much of what we are cannot be conveyed by digital means. And that’s not a bad thing…

  3. October 30, 2006 11:59 am

    Chris – Thank goodness the Nikkii didn’t think of sending me to work in the garden! It is not one of my strengths… more an ‘area to be developed’ as indeed is the garden!

    AB – No worries! Tell your friend to get in touch, either by posting to the blog, or my easy to remember email is scottishteacher [at] gmail.com

    I agree that meeting face-to-face is a completely different thing from social networking. I have a much better idea of everyone I met at TeachMeet06, and I think my appreciation for them is so much higher as a result.

  4. October 30, 2006 5:06 pm

    Hello Mr W

    I know this will sound like a philosophy from that bald blind bloke at the beginnig of 70’s classic TV serial ‘Kung Fu’but-

    about 99% of the worlds population are having a permanent similar enforced absence from the online community.

    I hope ‘joonya’ is feeling better – I promise you, man, suddenly they are older!

    Agape

    Drew

  5. Eva Forbes permalink
    November 2, 2006 10:43 pm

    Hi Neil,
    have you pointed out the illogicality of P+k proviing blogging training sessions and then blocking our blogs?

  6. November 3, 2006 11:06 am

    Hi Eva…

    That’s why I use WordPress and Edublogs… they haven’t been blocked (yet!)

Trackbacks

  1. So, No Pressure Then… « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing

Leave a Reply

