Skip to content

So, No Pressure Then…

November 1, 2006

One of the biggest problems I had last weekend when I was ‘cut off’ was that I’m trying to prepare for a Perth & Kinross training session tomorrow…make that tonight! I’ve been asked demonstrate to the Newly Qualified Teacher (NQT) mentors about how blogs, wikis and RSS can be used to help in supporting the NQTs. My original intention had been to give the participants a one line handout with a Blog address on it and have everything else online… but the dead modem and Dell took care of that! Oh well… I might make it yet if I don’t sleep tonight.

As I see it, the advantages to the tools are self explanatory once you begin to see how blogging et al work, so I’m approaching the session as an opportunity to introduce a group of seasoned teachers to blogs, wikis and RSS. If I have time, I also hope to let them see how flickr and del.icio.us can be used in the classroom, but that would be the icing on the cake.

What it is making me realise is just how powerful all the different aspects of the tools I take for granted  are. I am also realising that it is not possible to keep up with all the tools… Brian Benziger just proved that one with his stunning three part evaluation of Web2.0 tools. Bearing this in mind, I will be concentrating on getting my willing volunteers to set up their own blogs using WordPress, setting up their own wiki using the free wikispaces being offered to teachers, and setting up a netvibes account… all before tea!

I hope that I can use real life examples as I go along to illustrate my talk, and am busy compiling a list of sites I may mention. These are going to be put on the wiki I’m setting up for them… which is very bare-bones at the moment, but will gradually fill up during the day until I start at 4pm (UK time).

This is where you, my wonderful reader(s) can help if you wish. I have set up an EXTRAS page on the wiki and I want to add links to examples of uses of Blogs, wikis and flickr sites that you think will demonstrate their uses for NQT mentors. I think the links should be approachable to a new user, but I am also aware that I am possibly underestimating my audience.

I think what I am realising is that this is the first officially sanctioned introduction to Web2.0 for Perth & Kinrossteachers, and that I will be delivering the session… and I’m scared stiff! If you’ve been reading my blog, or if you’ve met me, you’ll know how important I think these tools are… I really want to do them justice because if I do I think it could start opening the door to a better experience for the pupils in Perth & Kinross. By the end of the session, I will either have 30 or 40 new edubloggers taking their first steps into the blogosphere, or I’ll have another 30 or 40 people who think that blogging is a waste of time…

If those of you who have experience of the situation I’m in have any hints/tips/advice, I’d be very pleased to have them!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2006 8:38 am

    I keep examples down to one or two. For a complete introduction to what blogs can offer and what wikis can offer the format I used the other night with ICT coordinators seemed to work quite well. I asked THEM what they think their school websites do for them now and what the drawbacks were (cue: wikis, for one click publishing in much the same way they have done before and, oooh, look at this, you can collaborate, too!).

    Q2: What they would LIKE them to do for them (cue: blogs – it’ll tie up).

    I’ve written about it on my blog (yesterday). Feel free to pillage.

  2. November 1, 2006 9:38 am

    Thanks for this Ewan… and believe me… you are being well and truly pillaged!
    I’ve also been listening to your Web2.0 presentation from SETT* for ideas.

    I am fairly confident about what I will be saying, but I also want the participants to go away enthusiastic about the possibilities that the tools offer. Hopefully, this will be one of the ways that PKC begins to realise the potential that is waiting to be unleashed.

    *I was through the wall at the ACE session so heard Zarathustra…

  3. November 1, 2006 11:29 am

    Go for it – I suggest the shades as an extra touch ……

Trackbacks

  1. Survived… « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing

Leave a Reply

