Skip to content

Deal Or No Deal?

November 2, 2006

To blog or not to blog, that is the question...Steve Dembo has posted a really good question on Teach42: Your blog or your job? You Have 30 Seconds to decide. I like the question because of its simplicity, but also because it gets right to the heart of what it means to be a reflective practitioner.

On a purely practical level, I know that my job would have to come first (Paul needs his nappies!)… but I cannot imagine working without blogging! I think I am becoming a better teacher as a result of the reflective practices that blogging and reading other teacher’s blogs brings.

I’d be interested to hear what you have to say. Could you work in an environment that actively sought to stop you from posting your thoughts online?

 

Technorati tags: , ,
3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2006 9:04 am

    Thanks to drawing my attention to this, what a great question. I have left a responce over on the Teach42 blog. It was somthing like this.

    ‘I would find it very difficult to give up my blog. I think I would try and argue that it makes me a better, more reflective teacher and also argue the value of it to others (through statistics about its readership). I guess that if it really came to the crunch, I would give it up, after all I do have a mortgage and bills to pay. But I would actively look for another job at the same time. I wouldn’t want to work for a school that wanted to stop my personal professional development.

    Cheers for now, Ollie

  2. November 2, 2006 1:13 pm

    Or you could be someone like me who refused to return to the classroom because of having too much fun outside it – doing things like blogging! Sorry – not a very serious comment, but I was asked last week….

  3. November 3, 2006 7:11 pm

    I certainly woulden’t be happy, anyway.
    I love having the ability to express myself in any way i wish on the internet (within reason, I suppose :P) and having this taken from me by an employer would be unbearable.

Leave a Reply

