Skip to content

The simple ideas are often…

November 9, 2006

Simple English WikipediaI’ve just found out about Simple English Wikipediawhat a great idea for schools!

I recommend that the kids should be using Wikipedia, but I am aware that the language is often too challenging for the younger pupils. Similarly, for those whose first language is not English, SEWikipedia is much more approachable.

If you want to get a flavour, try the entry for Scotland!

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2006 7:07 pm

    I’ve known of Simple ‘pedia for a couple of weeks now, and it’s a great resource. I

  2. November 9, 2006 7:15 pm

    Rawr. What I was going to say before WordPress so rudely cropped my post was that I love Simpedia’s article on ‘house’:

    “A house is a building. It is also called a home. People live in a house. People without a house are called homeless people. A bungalow is a house with no stairs.”

    How can you not love that?

  3. November 18, 2006 9:17 pm

    Hi

    IOnesco wrote a very good play along these sort of lines – called The chairs I think – based on foreign language coursebooks.

    I kind of like it; I took a look at the list of allwable words and thught there were some odd inclusions [and if I thought about it, exclusions].

    the Lallans Scots version is even better – I dare you to read it without drifting into Billy Kaye vernacular.

    Drew

Leave a Reply

