Skip to content

YYZ! Must buy…

December 6, 2006

Courtesy of Derek Robertson, I was recently introduced to Guitar Hero. Now from the BBC comes the news that GuitarHero II is about to be released…

So, I nipped over for a quick look and… MUST BUY! I had a quick look at the tracklist, and it’s got YYZ by Rush as one of the choices…

20 years ago, I spent a very happy/frustrating summer sitting trying to learn how to play YYZ. Every spare moment was spent trying to play the solo… and eventually I succeeded… and now I have to do it all over again!!!!!

Oh well, at least I won’t be alone, because the moment David finds out about YYZ on GH2, the race will be on. Expect to see a YYZ showdown between me and David at next year’s Teachmeet!

 

 

Technorati tags: , , ,
6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2006 4:24 pm

    Scunner! We bought SingStar for Christmas present and I’ve just negotiated Bare Naked Ladies tickets for my birthday (I think) so it will be some time before I can justify more expenditure on games. 😦

    I wonder if I can talk the head of department into buying a copy for evaluation purposes?

  2. December 6, 2006 9:23 pm

    It’s definitely a must buy! The track listing is amazing not only is there YYZ but there are songs like Lynyrd Skynyrd’s free bird as well. I’ve tried it and i love it! They had it set up in Virgin on Saturday, dunno if they still do… but me and a few mates were in making fools of ourselves with our power stances and incredibly small guitars! Funny thing is, being a guitarist or a bass player doesn’t help you, it was the non musical people that were good at it where as us guitarists and bass players just ruined the songs! Hopefully I’m getting it for xmas (fingers crosses)

    The Bass Player

  3. December 10, 2006 11:52 pm

    Hey W

    You’re not the only one who might find the passage of time in your favour…

    I recently read something by A Lifeson himself; when he first played Villa Strangiato he was garteful to be shot of it and never wanted to play anything that hard again; now he gives it a quick run-through while eating toast and watching the simpsons.

    Life’s so unfair isn’t it?

    Drew

    small world type post on rush/karsh/projectapollo/brixton coming soon

  4. December 12, 2006 9:42 am

    I had a go at this game in Debenhams on Saturday. Great fun even though I was frustratingly bad. See my comments on Derek’s post for more details of my efforts to keep up with the Lifesons!

  5. December 16, 2006 4:05 pm

    What really needs to be done now is a Wii game with some kind of air guitar type thing, I saw a tech demo nintendo did of a full drum kit with Wiimotes as sticks, it looked like awesome fun, I really hope they publish it…

  6. Bellame permalink
    March 2, 2007 8:34 am

    Thanks man, i agree

Leave a Reply

