Skip to content

And I’d Have Gotten Away With It Too…

January 14, 2007

…if it wasn’t for that pesky Liz O’Neill

So, having thought I’d escaped or been ignored, I’ve been invited to the Five Things Meme. Actually, having just had an unintentional absence from the ‘sphere for a while (I may blog about it later), it’s a good way of getting back into the swing of things, so without further ado:

1 – I’m a ‘Friends Reunited’ cliche! My other half/wife/mother of my son got in touch with me through FR. We originally went out with each other 20 or so years ago. Talk about regrets (Mind you, I did have to do some growing up so it’s all worked out fine!)

2 – I never meant to become a teacher, and certainly not an English teacher. I originally went to Stirling University to study English and Music with a view to trying to work as a full-time musician (but with a music degree so I could fall back on music teaching if necessary). Courtesy of Maggie Thatcher, the music department of Stirling was shut down and so I ended up finishing my degree in English and Education… the rest was inevitable… especially as teaching is really the family firm. My mum was a teacher, my sister’s a teacher, my mum’s parents were teachers, my great grandfather was a Rector… etc. Don’t know why I tried to fight it!

3 – I was a professional alcoholic for almost ten years. By that, I mean I got paid to drink by Oddbins. I can’t believe they ever employed me as when I went for my interview I thought I knew it all… I could name Leibfraumilch, Lambrusco and Mateus Rose… I soon learned! During my time with Oddbins, I studied and passed my Ordinary and Higher Certificates in Wine & Spirits, and had finished the first (wet) half of my Diploma when teaching called. I still spend far too much on wine, especially at the higher end of the market!

4 – I’m a pretty good guitarist, though I would have to be honest and say I’m a real Jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none… I started playing classical guitar, and then got more and more into electric. The net result is that I can bluff my way through a variety of styles ranging from heavy metal to Villa-Lobos… I’ve recently been playing in a Big Band doing everything from Ellington and Basie to Puente and Weather Report…

5 – My real passion outside family/work/music/wine is the Great War. I’ve taken several trips to visit the Battlefields on the Western Front and if I had the choice (or indeed, the ability) I’d throw it all in and move to Albert or Ieper and spend my time visiting the battlefields and giving tours… as it is, I’ve become really easy to buy presents for. I got some really good books about the Somme at Christmas…

So, there you go. 5 things about me, and now I get to tag a few of you… not that there are many left (I’ve been feeling like the kid no-one picks at games…)

Step up to the plate: Drew, Sean, Terry, Annabel, and JoKay

 

Technorati tags: ,
7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 1:25 am

    Glad you’re still alive – I was beginning to wonder!

  2. January 15, 2007 2:25 am

    It’s been a very strange few weeks… though nothing specific. Just very busy.

    I’ll be back to speed in no time… folios always enervate me (‘Liar, liar, pants on fire…’)

    Must say I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading about Christmas chez blethers! Hope to see you sometime soon.

  3. January 15, 2007 4:05 pm

    I told you you could get pregnant from a 1 line email.

  4. Jackie permalink
    January 15, 2007 11:41 pm

    Glad you’re back in the sphere (this is just to let you know I’m beginning to come up for air again!)

  5. January 20, 2007 10:50 am

    Neil
    Thank you for posting your 5 things. I have always wondered how people get those jobs in Oddbins. I could have waxed lyrical about all the wines you mentioned at your interview… I also knew a few others that I would have suggested they start buying.
    I remember a pear wine that was amazingly cheap:~
    I’ve been having connection problems- so if I end up posting the same thing twice (or thrice) here, forgive me.

  6. Sean permalink
    August 1, 2007 12:02 pm

    I keep coming back to this 5 things, but I just can’t do it!

    I’m too young! I have absolutely nothing to say… lol. So em… pass until further notice…

    I’m gonna pop up to your room after the holidays whenever I have a spare minute if that was ok… I have a couple of things I wanted to talk about, basically about podcasting.

Trackbacks

  1. Northern lessons | Here goes…

Leave a Reply

