Skip to content

Higher English Revision

February 19, 2007

Although I’ve been very quiet on the blogging front of late, I’ve been very busy doing a multitude of other things. As well as implementing the new website for my school (and yes, it’s down at the moment… this is to take advantage of the holiday weekend for some essential maintenance and updates), I’ve also set up a blog service for the pupils and staff and have bitten the bullet and installed Moodle.

I completed the Open University Course Understanding E-Learning: A guide for Teachers and Learners (T186) a year or so ago (it’s not being offered at the moment), and one of the real ideas I got while studying it was to create an online revision guide for Higher English. The pupils in my Higher English class have just finished their prelims, and while they have shown sound knowledge of their texts they have also been lacking in their ability to answer the questions (ATQ)! As a result, I have now started to create a Moodle revision and Exam technique course for the pupils… and this is where (I hope) some of you come in.

I’m looking to see if there are two or three Higher English teachers who would be interested in helping create materials designed specifically to help with answering techniques for pupils. At the moment, I’ve got one quiz set up which covers some of the basic literary techniques the pupils need to know, and I have started writing a resource on Word Choice. After that, I’m planning on looking more closely at the three types of questions, Understanding, Analysis and Evaluation.

If you are interested in becoming involved in writing questions or materials for the Moodle, I’ll take care of getting them online and turned into quizzes/tests. In return, I’ll give you and your pupils access to the materials and quizzes.

At the moment, there is very little on the site, and I’m targeting Higher English in particular, but if I can get enough material, and if it proves to be worthwhile, then I intend making the course completely free and open to all Scottish Schools next year.

If you are interested in becoming involved, or want to know more, post a comment and I’ll get in touch with you asap!

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2007 1:17 pm

    Great idea, Neil – the things people get up to while I’m away travelling!

  2. Eva Forbes permalink
    February 20, 2007 6:54 pm

    What’s a moodle? I clicked on it but came away even less wise!!

    Cheers Eva

  3. February 20, 2007 8:14 pm

    It’s a sort of “Virtual Learning Environment”, (That’s what VLE stands for) it allows techers to create on-line courses and lessons for pupils to take.
    The name “moodle” comes from the name of the software that powers that portion of the site.

    Hope that helps,
    z3rb

  4. February 20, 2007 11:42 pm

    Hi Eva,
    It is (as z3rb points out) a virtual learning environment… Unless you can actually log in to a course, there is very little you can access… but I’d be delighted to show you what it can do. I think you’ll like it… and will find uses for it.

  5. February 21, 2007 7:34 pm

    I am interested -not sure if I am quite qualified however as I am not teaching Higher English at present – I’ve got Int 2 and Advanced Higher. Let me know. I am marking Higher prelim papers at the moment so lots of thoughts about it. Some not pleasant…

    Also would appreciate getting your advice on my wiki attempts, Neil. Can I email you?

  6. February 21, 2007 10:01 pm

    Mr W, quick couple of thoughts on this whole Moodle thing… 1st of all I like the idea of getting other English teachers involved, the idea of there being multiple teachers managing it with different methods of teaching is great. However, maybe once the site is up and running and it is getting nearer the exam etc it might be an idea to hand it over to some of us too, they do after all say that the best way to gain confidence about what you have learned is to teach it. That is also to basis of the web 2.0 idea after all. Just a thought though.

    P.S. Please don’t tell the rest of the class I posted this, I will most likely be strung up…

    Sean

  7. February 22, 2007 10:35 am

    Good idea from Sean. Big Nath’s Computing wiki shows the value of letting pupils do (at least some of) their own organising.

  8. February 22, 2007 11:00 am

    The bloging tool for the school looks interesting too. It’s still early days obviously but it will be interesting to see how it develops.

    I noticed that the rules on the front page are pretty much all negative. Is this an “official” set of rules that you are obliged to post? It seems a shame that there are no balancing positive rules. For example, “I will make positive and encouraging comments on other peoples blogs.”

    Any thoughts on this? Does anyone know of a list of positive bloging rules?

  9. February 22, 2007 1:14 pm

    Curses Mr Muir! You are right… I need to revise them as a matter of urgency.
    Given that I am trying to encourage blogging and Web2.0, the conditions do seem very negative.

    Feel free to make suggestions people!

    And as for you, Mr Muir, sir… I take it you’ve already got May 1st in your diary?

  10. February 22, 2007 5:40 pm

    They were talking about the new album on Planet Rock today. They were quoting and engineer who described it as “spiritual” and “rocking” among other things. Interesting… I think.

    Now I wonder if they tour in the UK. 🙂

  11. April 7, 2007 7:11 pm

    Are you still looking for another English teacher to help create materials? If so, I’d certainly be interested.

  12. WelshDragon permalink
    May 9, 2007 5:34 pm

    I have been asked to create English resources for my school in Wales. We need resources for GCSE English Literature and English Reading& Understanding responses (I’m sure there’s overlap with the Scottish system here). I’d like to help with resources and maybe pinch yours. I’m a little experienced with Moodle and have ICT support at school.
    Happened upon your site while browsing!

  13. May 9, 2007 10:59 pm

    @:Teach77 & WelshDragon – I’ve dropped you an email…

  14. Lesley permalink
    May 15, 2007 9:07 pm

    Hey! I’ve just watched my kids emerge from the Higher with various facial expressions for me to decipher. Your plan sounds great to me and I’d love to get involved – if you’re interested.
    Any thoughts on this year’s paper?

  15. katy permalink
    June 5, 2008 9:32 pm

    i have no idea whether this is an active thread, but please get in touch if you’re still active with your higher english revision plans.

Trackbacks

  1. Positively Blogging « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing
  2. Just Goes To Show… « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing

Leave a Reply

