Skip to content

Great Resource For New And Old Alike…

March 15, 2007

Sunset TagsVia George Siemens I’ve just learned of a really useful one-stop-fits-all wiki guide which has been initiated by Manitoba’s Learning Technologies Centre. It provides a really useful introduction and advice to users on some of the most common Web2.0 tools. Covering such topics as Flickr, Blogs, Wikis, Social-Bookmarking, Audio, Video, WebConferencing and Tying It All Together (RSS et al), this really is an excellent reference resource for those starting out on the Road-To-Enlightenment2.0.

Add to this, AB’s superb tutorials, and the newly launched ScotEduPedia, and you begin to realise that there is more and more high quality advice waiting to be found and acted on…

One thing I am glad of is the rapid spread of these ‘how-to’s and ‘guides’. For my money, the sheer proliferation of them is a healthy indication that the tools are here to stay and that they are only going to become more and more important. This is a message that we need to get to more people in schools and authorities so that we can evolve as educators.

One of the things I’m finding frustrating at the moment is fitting it all in. The ‘joys’ of being a classroom teacher with folios and NABS (Scottish Coursework Assessments) means that this particular term is a disaster area for regular blogging (at least for this teacher!)… but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. And I don’t mean that the folios and so forth will be over soon, I mean that I am still at the start of the 2.0 learning curve myself and have been squirreling away ideas for future reference. I am finding my way with Moodle and running my own Blog engine for the school, but next year I should be in a position to have resources available for the pupils and also a few more teachers up to speed and producing their own materials… and it is a cumulative process. One beauty of online materials is that they are there for future years/courses, and the onset of GLOW can only speed up this process for all Scottish teachers…

Anyway… I’ve got some essays to mark and then some serious reading to catch up on!

Technorati:

Powered by Bleezer

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2007 8:35 am

    Thanks for the comment Neil – I’m in the process of creating numerous similar tutorials for PowerPoint, WordPress, Breeze, Captivate and Flash (with a few other bits and pieces thrown in!), so hopefully these will prove helpful too.

  2. March 15, 2007 10:11 am

    I feel your pain, kid – all these March tasks!
    😦

  3. March 15, 2007 8:13 pm

    Neil – thanks! I was looking for a simple intro to the delights of editing wikis for some colleagues and you have provided me with the material I need.

    How are things?

  4. March 15, 2007 9:39 pm

    Thank all! As you’ve no doubt noticed I’ve been quiet/v.v.busy recently.

    AB – I’m looking forward to your WP guide. Will it be WP.com, or WPMU, or both? I’d be happy to help you with it if you wish.

    Chris – Almost there… actually, I’m almost away to the Western Front (next Friday) which feels very surreal at the moment. Maybe once the folios are signed off on.

    John – Things are… hectic! SMT seems like a long time ago at the moment. I’m looking forward to getting some time to try a few new bits and pieces, and also catching up on some reading/writing…

    Hopefully I’ll see you all soon!

  5. March 15, 2007 9:58 pm

    Neil,
    Must have a look at this.I’ve got two wikis going at the moment, and it’s all a bit Heath Robinson…
    I don’t have folios this year as we have switched to Ints -but there’s plenty of NABs and essays all the same.

  6. March 15, 2007 10:17 pm

    Hi Liz,
    I’m happy to help out with Wiki stuff if you need it. I’ve mostly used Wikispaces for my wikis, but I’ve installed MediaWiki for the school’s use. I’ve also found another really useful guide to using MediaWiki on the WikiEducator site. Between this and the Manitoba Guides I’m finally becoming more confident in using the MediaWiki Engine…

    Now… back to the marking! ;0)

  7. March 16, 2007 9:42 am

    regarding WP tutorials – both, but from a users point of view. I’ be really interested in creating some kind of resource that shows the process of installing/managing WPMU though? What do you think?

  8. March 16, 2007 3:15 pm

    I’m certainly up for helping (especially with the holiday fast approaching and the folios out of the way).

    With regards to the installing of WPMU, I used fantastico for the actual install(provided by our hosting company). The work for me came afterwards with creating settings and installing (and testing) themes/plug-ins etc…

    I’m also getting to be a dab hand at running the back-end (Admin account) and weeding out undesirable stuff (courtesy of Netvibes!).

    I’d be very happy to sort out some advice on this, and I think it might be worth speaking to David Gilmour in East Lothian if you wanted to find out about ‘real’ installing of WPMU.

    If you want to email me directly I am SCOTTISHTEACHER [AT] GMAIL [DOT] COM

    Cheers!

  9. March 17, 2007 1:19 am

    Thanks Neil. I’m using wikispaces too, as you recommended. They have the ‘one up from basic’ version for teachers free. The big issue for me is pupils editing at the same time – it seems to cause problems. (or is it just me attracting glitches?) Anyway it’s a learning experience.

  10. March 17, 2007 8:07 am

    Hi Liz,
    No, it’s not just you… it’s just the nature of Wikis. While they are designed to be used and edited by many people, they are not designed to be used and edited by many people at the same time. There is no way round this (that I know of).

    I’m learning every day! It was Ewan that gave me that tip/point, and now you’ll pass it on to someone else… This is what I love about connected learning!

Leave a Reply

