Skip to content

Starting Up…

June 8, 2007

http://www.sxc.hu/photo/770984As I mentioned in my previous post, I’m hoping to get all my classes blogging and using wikis this year. One thing that has already made my life much easier is having the facility to set up the blogs in advance for the pupils. Because we now have our own WordPressMU set up, it has been possible to have the blogs ready in advance. My first attempts at class blogging last year, were entirely dependent on using an external provider… and also, being a bit green round the ears, I hadn’t consider ways of having the blogs prepared… or indeed, how much easier it would make things!

Last year’s attempts mostly involved having me standing in the middle of a lab with 16 – 20 PCs trying to explain to 30 pupils how to set up a blog using the edublogs service… and was mostly a dismal failure because of the various problems edublogs had between September and November…

Things came to a head and late in December I managed to persuade the school to buy hosting for the school’s website and to allow us to introduce other online tools. Following a recommendation from z3rb, webought a package from ASmallOrange and haven’t looked back! They are relatively cheap, highly reliable, and best of all have given us the ability to take on a major blog implementation… well, major for someone who’s never done anything like this before! z3rb gave some much needed help and guidance and as a result, the whole process has been remarkably painless… though I wish there was some way of taking all spammers and dumping them in their own little intranet where they can spam each other for eternity. Actually, we’ve had relatively few problems with spam, and as long as I keep an eye on the blog’s admin email, I can catch any before they go live.

I believe this will be an important year for us in the tools we can provide for the benefit of our pupils, and I’ll do my best to keep you up-to-date with the trials and tribulations of setting up and managing a school’s blog service… in the meantime, i you want more information about any aspect of my experience so far, feel free to drop me a comment or an email (I’m scottishteacher at gmail dot com )

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2007 11:38 am

    “though I wish there was some way of taking all spammers and dumping them in their own little intranet where they can spam each other for eternity”

    I tried writing my own captcha into wp-signup.php, and I think I broke it…

    I will fix it, I’m just not entirely sure how.

Trackbacks

  1. “…rock the boat, and try something new…” « Mr W’s Blogging Great Thing

Leave a Reply

