Skip to content

Start The Fire…

June 9, 2007

Thanks to Christian’s think:lab, I’ve had the chance to find the following video:

What’s even more impressive is the link to Mrs Trudeau’s excellent History edublog and the work she’s done on the video and song. In fact, I was so impressed with her blog that I had a wee look at what else she has been doing and saying, and found a great overview of using Skype in the classroom packed full of links and good ideas… and then I remembered… that most of the tools she references and uses in her classroom to produce really positive, interesting engaging lessons are blocked in most Scottish schools…

Oh well, I suppose I can always watch them myself and then go and tell my pupils about this wonderful online world of learning. Maybe I could use a screenshot to illustrate what I say… that’ll inspire my pupils, won’t it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2007 7:45 pm

    I thought this was great and have downloaded it to show to my colleague in history. Whilst I was on YouTube I found several interesting versions of Tom Lehrer’s Elements song – I’ve put some on my own blog, safe in the knowledge that I won’t be able to be corrupted by them in school tomorrow as I won’t be able to see them…

  2. June 17, 2007 9:04 pm

    Ah yes… thank goodness for filtering software in schools… it’s invaluable for saving us from learning new things. After all, there’s only so much knowledge the untrained mind can hold…

Leave a Reply

