Skip to content

Shaping Up…

June 18, 2007

Shape-MakerMunkeeb (my oldest boy) has been busy with Scratch. So much so that I’ve not been following all he’s been doing on the site which is a bit of a shame. However, I spotted him working on a project that really made me sit up and pay attention: Shape-Maker. It is not a particularly sophisticated project per se, but it does suggest a world of possibilities.

Shape-Maker will draw a chosen shape on the screen, but I realised that it would be a perfect tool for younger children to learn about shapes. And this is where I became excited because Munkeeb had designed and written the programme with absolutely no ‘adult/expert’ input. He’d used Scratch to come up with a tool that has classroom potential and real educational benefit… and he’s only 10 years old!

I’m not making any claims for Munkeeb to be a great teacher in the future, and I’m sure there are better projects out there that do the same thing, but I’m pure, dead proud that he has created something with an educational slant and which had nothing to do with me.

I also see this as a way of demonstrating the educational power of play, because his take on all of this is simply that it’s fun… He’s leaving the pedagogical worries to the rest of us as he designs even more cool projects!

One Comment leave one →
  1. munkeeb permalink
    October 16, 2007 6:48 pm

    Why thank you Mr.W! 😀

Leave a Reply

