Skip to content

All Hail The Emperor…

July 14, 2007

useitThe American site e-consultancy.com has just ‘revealed’ the world’s top 10 usability experience gurus, and I am at a loss to explain their number one choice. If you can explain how the man responsible for this site can be crowned the world’s best usability guru, then you’re probably also able to explain away his evident lack of understanding of some of the key 2.0 tools that you use on a daily basis… I love his suggestion that the key to RSS uptake is to make the updates less frequent… maybe a monthly update… Somehow I think that the rise of Twitter demonstrates how wrong that point is…

Still, what do I know… I’m a teacher, so I get £31,000 a year… he’s a guru, so he gets between 10 and 20,000 $ per day! Me… I’d go to Presentation Zen, Seth Godin and David Weinberger… and use the money I’d saved to buy something nice for my kids teacher… Just a thought!

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , ,

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2007 9:58 am

    Nice to know I’m not alone in my opinion of this over-paid charlatan, Neil. If you think about the nature of the market that e-consultancy.com probably has to play to, it is exactly the kind of web troglodytes that Nielsen panders to and gets paid by.

  2. July 14, 2007 12:25 pm

    I think the reason he really gets my back up is because he obviously is so influential, and yet he constantly appears to demonstrate a complete lack of comprehension of how the web has/is evolving.

    He is selling the notion that it is still possible to ‘control’ the web… and is making a nice living off selling the idea to people who want it to be true. Thankfully, for all his pontificating, I don’t see too many people emulating his web-design! 😉

  3. July 14, 2007 2:00 pm

    Hi Neil,
    I am not a Nielsen fan, but his site is usable, not pretty to my eyes, but usable clear navigation etc.

    There is a big difference between pretty and usable, although most of web 2 seems lickable and usable to me.

    I think the amount of money he gets paid is obscene, but then so are a lot of other folks wages. (I am with Orwell, no one should get more than 10 times the lowest wage).

    As for rss how many web users use rss, still a minority I think,
    (for example, I recall being told that a glow engineer did not know what rss was as late as SETT 2006). A couple of years ago the majority of teachers I asked had not heard of blogging. I would guess most have by now (some are sick of hearing about it;-)) but a majority will not know what rss is. From Nielson’s pov I guess rss doesn’t pay.

  4. July 15, 2007 10:30 pm

    From the sidelines, I’d say this is somewhat sick-making. But perhaps it’s better just to laugh. :-O

Leave a Reply

