Skip to content

Mmmm…

August 7, 2007
It’s results day for thousands of Scottish school pupils. After years, months, weeks, days, and in some cases, hours of work, pupils will be opening the envelopes to find out what their future holds for them. I can still remember all too well the disappointment I felt when I opened my results… Having chosen the wrong courses at school (lots of sciences when I should have been doing Music and Modern Studies), my results were not particularly great… and that has made all the difference.

SQA logoI think if I’d had results which allowed me to go to University straight from school rather than the circuitous route I ended up taking, I’d have long since given up on education in any shape or form. As it is, I’ve ended up with a Degree in English, a Post-Grad Diploma in Education and a job that has to be one of the best on the planet. Along the way, I’ve learned about wine, music, theatre and working in bars. And believe me, I’ve been learning the whole time…

So to those of you who have just opened your envelopes, no matter what your grades are, I say “Well done!”, but you’ve only just started learning. Enjoy the rest of the journey… it’s a blast!

Blogged with Flock

Tags: ,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 12:05 pm

    Int 2 Maths – B
    Standard Grade Computing – 1
    Standard Grade Graphic Communication – 1
    Standard Grade Craft and Design – 2
    Standard Grade English – 2
    Standard Grade Modern Studies – 2
    Standard Grade Physics – 2

    😀 😀 😀 😀

  2. August 7, 2007 3:39 pm

    Yay! Well done… so… all Highers for you next year?

  3. August 7, 2007 7:46 pm

    Yup, 5 highers.

    😀

Leave a Reply

