Skip to content

Pictures Might Have To Wait!

August 25, 2007

Apple Grab01Well, it’s 3:33am and I’m sitting in the queue outside the Apple Store in Glasgow along with about 50 or 60 other people that need to get a life… NOT!

I remembered the good camera, but grabbed the wrong USB lead… go figure. But, the MacBook comes to the rescue again courtesy of the built in iSight camera.

As to the queue, I’ve already exchanged cards with a really cool musician called Alan, and been given a free cup of coffee by one of the other people in the queue. Behind me, there are  a number of workmen locking the safety barriers together and there are only another 5 and a bit hours to go until the store officially opens… the big rumour doing the rounds is that the Big Jobby himself (it’s a Glasgow term of endearment – honest) will be here in the morning!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2007 12:38 pm

    I hope it was worth the wait! I saw the queue starting to form when I left TGIs last night and took some pics. Then I saw a very ling queue at about 9:45 this morning when I was passing in the rain. I am afraid I don’t have quite the same enthusiasm as you for staying out all night!

  2. August 25, 2007 4:05 pm

    Fortunately the rain only came on as the store was opening… as it was, I made a couple of new friends and spent most of the night singing ‘Spider-Pig’

    I’ll have a bit more time later to post more of my photos to flickr.

    I have to be honest, I know it was a daft thing to do, but it was great fun, and sometimes you just have to do daft things to help keep you sane (how else do you explain Sky-diving?)… 😀

  3. Paul permalink
    August 25, 2007 8:33 pm

    I was very lucky to be one of the gents to be queuing with Mr W, and I still have the Spider-Pig tune in my head, argh!

    Thanks for making the time waiting so enjoyable, not laughed so much for ages.
    I got the 20″ iMac that I wanted, and a free t-shirt, well worth the wait.

    Thanks again.

  4. August 26, 2007 1:39 pm

    Yay Paul…

    Maybe they’ll open a store in Edinburgh! We could see if Alan and Ken are available as well… then maybe we could go to an opening somewhere warm!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

