Skip to content

“What Are We Going To Do Now!”

August 29, 2007

PA-TowerJust got time to let you all know about a bit of personal news. I’m delighted to let on that I have been appointed the new Principal Teacher of English at Perth Academy. I’ve been doing the job in an acting capacity since the start of term, but I’m really pleased to have my appointment made official.

I can honestly say that it is the online conversations I’ve had since starting my blog that have encouraged me to become the teacher I am now. If I look back at the progression of my career, I’ve learned more in the past year and a bit than I did in the 13 or so years before that… and that is all down to those of you who have been kind enough to comment and challenge and illuminate my thinking. For all that and more, I’d just like to say a really big thank-you to you all!

Now… I might be looking for a blogging English teacher soon… 😉

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2007 7:32 pm

    Congratulations Mr W!

  2. August 29, 2007 7:50 pm

    Congratulations Neil – welcome to the club!

  3. August 29, 2007 8:37 pm

    Thank you! I will (of course) be picking people’s brains for years to come…

  4. August 29, 2007 8:51 pm

    Nice one! 🙂

    I would say ‘best of luck’,

    …but there would be no point.. you don’t need it!

    I am looking forward to reading you experiences.

    Tess 🙂

  5. August 29, 2007 9:02 pm

    Thanks Tess…
    It’s still sinking in. Looking forward to seeing how things go myself!

    Looks like the next few years could be interesting…

  6. August 29, 2007 10:55 pm

    Brillliant news! Congratulations! I can’t imagine how great it would be to work in a department run by a blogger …. but I’ll content myself with trying happily. 😉

  7. Gordon permalink
    August 30, 2007 3:59 am

    What fantastic news – I don’t have any offhand comment to make. You deserve every success. Well done.

  8. Gordon permalink
    August 30, 2007 4:00 am

    P.S. Can you send me an email to my verizon account. I have tried e-mailing but my e-mails get bounced.

  9. August 30, 2007 6:59 pm

    Anyone with the patience to wait from 2:30am for an hours visit to the Glasgow apple store will make a great PT;-)

  10. September 1, 2007 3:30 am

    Well done Neil! I’m sure you will make an excellent PT.
    Interesting to see how you will take things forward.

  11. September 1, 2007 5:48 pm

    Obligatory congratulations and stuff here.

    But on a serious note, well done.

  12. September 1, 2007 10:46 pm

    Thanks Liz and z3rb! I think the realities are starting to set in now… It’s 11:45pm on a Saturday night and I’m working on the SQA exam appeals… and enjoying it. Life? Hah… vastly over-rated! 😉

Leave a Reply

