Skip to content

flickr Tools

December 15, 2007

The people behind flickr, the online photo sharing site, have gone into overdrive! They’ve just released some great tools for users which have a multitude of uses in the classroom as well.

I love flickr. It’s a great source of inspiration and ideas for the classroom teacher, and it also allows me to have the vicarious pleasure of seeing other peoples’ worlds and experiences. And now, there’s even more reasons to go pro… and to persuade your school to do the same! In the past few days/weeks flickr have made a few new tools available that you might be interested in investigating. The first of these is the inclusion of picnik:

picnik

picnik is a rather nifty online picture editing site… think photoshop and you’re in the right area. In fact, most of picnik’s detractors make the point that it isn’t as powerful as PS…but I think they’re missing the point. Picnik is free, it’s now built into flickr, and it allows a classroom teacher to get his or her pupils doing basic photo manipulation without having to lay out hundreds of €,£ or $ for the privilege… for me, that’s a no brainer!

stats

I love stats… not the ones involving lots of numbers and obscure calculations… but the ones that tell you how many people are visiting your blog (narcissistic I know… until you start to realise what a fantastic incentive they are to encourage a class to blog some more!). Well, now flickr has joined in with its own stats service – flickr stats. At the moment they are only available to flickr pro users (believe me… it’s well worth it!), and you have to opt in to the service, but I’m already having fun seeing which of my photos are getting the most traffic… and again… it’s a tool that gives great information for classroom use (think graphs, charts, discussions on peoples’ tastes…)

flickr uploader uploadr

The final tool to mention at the moment is the all new improved flickr uploader! Great if you’re uploading a load of photos, and the new version has a number of improvements which make sending large numbers of photos a breeze. (It’s also ‘Leopard’ ready if you’re a Mac user!)

Again, this allows you to have a class prepare their photos through a lesson and then upload them in one go…

For me, flickr just keeps going from strength to strength. Going ‘pro’ was the main reason I ditched my .Mac account, and I just wish more Scottish Education Authorities would learn from the recommendation given by BECTA when they say that flickr is one of the tools that all schools can use to great effect!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2007 8:12 pm

    Hi Neil,
    new uploader not working here.
    Do you have a link for BETT, I feel a bit of campaigning coming on.

  2. December 15, 2007 8:13 pm

    Sorry looking for link for flickr on becta, can find it with their search.

  3. December 15, 2007 11:15 pm

    Hi John,
    I first heard about flickr being a permitted/recommended tool from Theo (Kuchel) at TeachMeet06, and I did find it in a recommended ‘toolkit’ on the old Becta site… but I can’t find it on the new site!

    With luck, someone will be able to provide the link (Hint! Hint!)

    I’ve had no problems at all with the new uploader… but I’m using Leopard… what are you on at the moment?

  4. December 15, 2007 11:29 pm

    One that is live is the ‘Primary school page’ of the forthcoming BETT08 show… the third article down is entitled Cool things to do with pictures and is all about flickr…

    Here’s the link:
    http://www.bettshow.com/page.cfm/link=30/GoSection=6

  5. December 16, 2007 5:19 pm

    I am in a bad mood with Flickr.

    The renewal email for my pro account went to an old address. Since I didn’t renew the pro account they have locked away around about 800 images 😦

    I haven’t renewed the account yet, but when I do will my pictures return?

    Bah-Humbug Flickr 😦

  6. December 16, 2007 5:29 pm

    Tess,
    Yes, they will… if you look at the TOS, they only show your 200 most up-to-date photos on a free account (and only three of your sets)… but the rest are still there and will appear ‘as if by magic’ when you give them drinking tokens! 😉

  7. December 16, 2007 6:30 pm

    Thanks Neil 🙂

    I am now in a better mood with flickr. See you over there once I have coughed up the cash!

    Merry Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

