Skip to content

Wiki Wiki Winton!

March 13, 2008
tags:

slf_logo2008_tcm4-465039.jpgI’ve been enthusing about the potential of wikis in the classroom for a long time now… so much so, that I sent in a proposal to this year’s Scottish Learning Festival. I found out this evening that my proposal has been accepted and that I’m going to be sharing my thoughts with anyone that wants to come along to one of the best Learning Festivals in the world!

The title of my proposal was: Using Wikis to develop the four capacities of A Curriculum for Excellence and improve literacy.

And the synopsis reads as follows:

The four capacities of A Curriculum for Excellence could have been devised with the use of wikis in mind. By their very nature they are a natural medium for developing the capacities while at the same time keeping an accurate record of each pupils progress and personal development. Neil Winton, PT English at Perth Academy, will highlight how his school have been using wikis to improve literacy and develop the four capacities.

Wikis encourage pupils to take responsibility for their own learning as individuals and also in groups. The online nature of the medium can help break down the artificial barriers that peer pressure can create whilst also promoting respect for others. The ability to participate in teams made up of pupils from completely different backgrounds is a major factor in producing successful, confident, responsible and effective learners. Pupils at Perth Academy have been using wikis in a variety of imaginative and original ways to motivate and enthuse learning about literature. In doing so, links with other pupils have been forged on a national and international stage.

The session will use examples of pupil produced wikis to illustrate the four capacities outlined in A Curriculum for Excellence. In doing so, I will be examining and demonstrating how classroom teachers can use a wiki to support the aims of A Curriculum for Excellence

I’ll be drawing on some of the excellent work produced by pupils in the school and the superb work done by my colleagues, especially Sarah Duffy and her MidsummerDreaming wiki.

I’m really pleased to have been selected because there have been a record number of submissions this year… so all I have to do now is start planning what and how to say my bit! I know that some of my readers have presented at conferences in the past, so if you have any hints or tips for a ‘newbie’ please don’t hesitate to get in touch…

If you want to come along and give moral support/heckle/tweet then I’m in Carron 2 on Thursday 25th September at 09:30am…

…and I’m already nervous!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2008 11:28 pm

    Congratulations to you

    Might just pop along to that one if I can.

  2. March 14, 2008 1:42 am

    I looked at the Shakespeare wiki, nice job. I have two others you might like if you need elementary school samples—our 4-6 graders did a wiki on Pirates (2007)http://arrrpirates.wikispaces.com and our 6th graders did a wiki on a novel called The Wright 3 (2006). (the novel has a Frank Lloyd Wright connection so that is a big part of the wiki) http://thewright3.wikispaces.com Hope that helps. N.

  3. March 14, 2008 7:14 am

    This is great news – I really enjoyed the work that Sarah showed at Teachmeet North. Looks like you also got a great slot? 09.30h after Teachmeet SLF08!

  4. March 14, 2008 10:03 am

    Great news, and I can’t wait to see how many other new technologies / social media talks got accepted. I’m doing a couple and think it shows that the power of this stuff isn’t lost on what was an entirely independent session panel. Hope I can attend yours and that there are no clashes.

  5. March 14, 2008 1:08 pm

    Thanks everyone! I’m still a little stunned that it was accepted… I just wish I’d put in a couple more about blogging/CPD/Web2.0…

    Still, small steps…

    PS: The thought that you guys might be in the audience just makes me even more nervous… maybe that’s why we find out well in advance… gives us time to lose the nerves!

    The other good thing is that, I think, Carron 2 is about the size of a matchbox so I won’t have to worry too much about an audience! (Or a post TeachMeet feeling…) 😉

  6. andy w permalink
    March 15, 2008 9:46 pm

    Congrats Neil, you deserve to be very chuffed. Hopefully I’ll be able to get over to his year’s SLF to give you a cheer!

Leave a Reply

