Skip to content

Matchit For Pratchett!

March 17, 2008

I’m only sorry that it’s taken someone of Terry Pratchett‘s profile for me to get off my butt and donate to the Alzheimer’s Research Trust, but I’m now trying to make up for lost time by persuading you to join me!

image14.jpgA few years ago, I had the very real privilege of accompanying a group of pupils to a reading given by Terry Pratchett, author of the Discworld books. He was a real gentleman. Modest, self-effacing, and freely gave of his time to anyone that wanted to speak to him. He also signed absolutely everything put in front of him with a unique message… In short, he ensured a memorable and highly entertaining afternoon for everyone lucky enough to be there.

For what it’s worth, I have long maintained that he is the only novel writing satirist worth a damn in Britain at the moment, and if you’re really unlucky, I’ll even bore you to tears with my theory that he is the natural successor to Swift… but none of these things are really very important at the moment.

An Embuggerance

The news has been filled with reports about Pratchett’s £500,000 donation to Alzheimer’s research. It is a reaction to the limited funding that the charity receives compared to other more high profile causes, but thanks to Boing Boing, I found out about the ‘Match It For Pratchett’ campaign started by Ceci N’est Pas Une Blog. Quite simply, this is a call for 500,000 Pratchett fans to donate a pound each and hopefully double the size of the donation. What are you waiting for? CLICK THIS LINK, make a donation, and say it’s in honour of Terry Pratchett so that they can keep a track of the donations… Or if you’re really loaded and want to help, go to eBay and bid on the ‘Luggage’

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 7:44 am

    Well I’m not a fan (and don’t think I’ve ever read one of his books!), but I will give too as I have a great uncle who suffers from Alzheimers.

  2. March 17, 2008 11:53 am

    Thanks Lynne… and you should give his books a try if you’re looking for something to read. Especially the more recent ones.

    Don’t be put off by the ‘fantasy’ tag… they are very very satirical! (Take a look at some of the references and allusions in Jingo to get a flavour of what I mean).

  3. Dorothy permalink
    March 22, 2008 4:55 pm

    Hi Neil
    Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I’ve read several of his books, and have 2 big fans in the family, but we didn’t know about this scheme. I’ve donated and I’m sure they will too. Thanks

  4. Eunice permalink
    April 2, 2008 2:08 pm

    On Alzheimer’s: You can also donate in the form of any old jewellery by sending it to The Alzheimer’s Society – (http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/index.php) – through their “Old Gold” campaign. However, if you do, make sure to send it to their direct address and insure your parcel. Because I didn’t know you could, and my £2000+ donation is now lost forever by the Royal Mail.

    On donating: never be afraid to ask for confirmation that the charity has received your donation. Generally, your name is kept on record, and staff are more than happy to help make sure your donations are accepted, and get where they need to go.

Leave a Reply

