Skip to content

Yay Wiki Wiki!

September 9, 2008

Great news from Wikispaces… They’ve extended their offer of free wikispaces for educators and I for one am over-the-moon!

In case you hadn’t realised, I am a great fan of wikis — a fact I’ll be expounding on at the Scottish Learning Festival in a couple of weeks. Wikis are fast, agile websites with numerous educational uses. I’ve tried a number of different providers but I keep coming back to Wikispaces. Their wikis don’t look as pretty as some others (pbwiki for one), but their simplicity makes them even easier to use, and therefore a great introduction for new users.

wikispace250.png

Over the past two and a half years, I’ve had their “100K Free Wikis for K-12” link in my sidebar. At the time I signed up for my first one, they still had 88,000 to give away… And then last week I realised that they had less than 100 left to give. I immediately got my second year class to sign up (less than 80 left!) and began to panic. How was I going to find advert-free wikis when the free wikispaces ones were finished?

Well, Wikispaces have come to the rescue because — having already given away 100,000 wikis — they’re now offering a further 250,000 for K-12 educators! w00t!

Now you’ve no excuse for not sharing the wiki goodness… advert free and collaboration filled…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2008 8:07 pm

    Just started using them with S1/S4/S5 last week – must remember and grab a couple for S2/S3. Unfortunately althought they are not blocked in Argyll, they don’t load properly, so although you can see everything you can’t edit and it looks a bit funny – still better than nothing I suppose.

  2. Dorothy permalink
    September 9, 2008 9:49 pm

    I did a 3rd CPD session for teachers on wikis on Wednesday last week. Already one of them, who had never used one before, has set up and is using one with her class. Woohoo!

  3. September 10, 2008 7:59 am

    @Lynne: Sometimes it is the browser rather than the firewall that causes the problem. Make sure you have a new(ish) browser and that all the usual updates (flash/java/shockwave/etc) have been applied. Ideally, try to get Firefox 3 on the machines, it makes a big difference.

    @Dorothy: Great to hear… Will you be at SLF?

  4. September 10, 2008 8:58 pm

    It’s the reason our technician was given when he phoned authority – the other suggestion was that I had too much content on my wiki for it to open properly in school, so I should try creating a new one in school and then it would work (even my non-technical brain could see that this wasn’t going to make it any better – even if it had I would still have wanted to put content on it). Anyway I tried and guess what, it was just the same as the ones created at home. Anyway I fight on.

  5. September 11, 2008 8:40 pm

    I despair at the needless censorship which prevails in Scottish Education… there’s no need for it in so many cases. 😦

  6. September 12, 2008 10:39 pm

    Thanks for the heads-up about this Neil

  7. September 15, 2008 7:59 pm

    No Worries Terry.
    Good to hear from you again.

  8. Dorothy permalink
    September 15, 2008 9:33 pm

    Hi Neil
    Yes I’ll be at SLF both days. Will look out for you.
    If Teachmeet finds a home, I guess I’ll see you there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

