Skip to content

It’s a small small small small world…

September 15, 2008

We all know that the world is shrinking, but nothing brings this home to me more than a message I received this evening from Govinda Prasad Panthy. In my day to day school life, I worry about problems which are miles away from Govinda’s experience, and yet we share a common bond: a desire to make a difference in children’s lives.

Govinda is the wonderfully titled Founder/teacher/manager of the Shantideep Adarsh Vidhyasadan school in Nepal. Founded 10 years ago, his school has risen from 13 students to 137… but the catch is that he cannot take all the pupils he would like because of a lack of resources and materials. I wonder what our own truants and NEETs could learn from Govinda’s pupils, it might be an interesting experience for both sides.

There is an explanation of some of the problems Govinda and his school have had to face as they have grown on his Classroom2.0 page and I think reading it will put a few of our own problems into perspective. I would love to see his school thrive, but can’t help thinking that there are so many areas of the world that don’t have a Govinda to drive them forward and make a difference, that there are so many children who will not have the opportunity to realise their potential, and that there are so many people in the “developed” world who have no idea just how valuable their education is.

If you want to know just how impressive Govinda’s efforts have been, then all you have to do is take a look at the photos he has posted. They will put many of our pupils to shame…

CLICK HERE FOR ALL OF GOVINDA’S PHOTOS
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 12:33 pm

    Os envío un fraternal saludo, desde Spain, a todos los alumnos y profesores del colegio.
    ¡Por la paz!

    congratulations!

    Best Regards, Adela

  2. April 16, 2009 1:43 am

    I congratulated to you and the entire staff of teachers in these great effort to change children lives, and for the commitment to get the maximum with love, and perseverance.
    We have in Chile one of the most important teachers, a great poet calls Gabriela Mistral, and mentioned to you because she was committed like you. All her life she teaches poor children of Chile especially children from de town she was born. El Valle de Elqui. She loves and prays to have the patient, to teach children with love as much love as God teach to us. She was our first Nobel Prize of Literature 1957, of Chile, but we still honor her labor, her poetry and the rural teacher that she was.

    Here it part a wonderful poem she wrote,
    The teacher’s pray

    Sir! Who taught you, forgive me teach, bearing the name of teacher, that you took for the Earth.

    Give me the only love of my school, which neither the beauty of the burn is able to steal all my tenderness of moments.

    Master, give me the enduring passion and passenger disappointment. Takes me this impure desire for justice that still moves me, the petty insinuation that raises protest from me when I hurt. Do not hurt me sad misunderstanding or forgetting where I taught.

    Give me the more that mothers mother, to love and defend them as it is not flesh of my flesh. Dame extent to which one of my girls and my perfect verse leave it stuck in my piercing melody, to sing when my lips no more.

    Can you show me in my time gospel, not to renounce the struggle of every day and every hour for him?

    Put in my school the democratic glow that is looming over your children run barefoot.

    Make me strong, even in my disadvantaged women and poor women, to make me disregard everything that is not pure of any pressure other than that of your ardent desire on my life.
    Gabriela Mistral

    Greeting from Chile, Patricia Araya

  3. pamdh permalink
    October 15, 2009 10:56 pm

    There are stories that humble us and make us realise how lucky we are this is one of them. To have the courage, conviction and passion to take these things forward prove that special people can and do exist.

  4. October 18, 2009 12:54 pm

    I have been to Nepal twice and fully share Govinda’s view about the importance of education for those children. It is a remarkable experience that need all our support. Lets share it with other friends at networks where we participate in.

    Thanks Govinda for the example and best wishes to you and the childrens.

    Giorgio Bertini

    Santiago, Chile

Leave a Reply

