Skip to content

Something New…

January 4, 2009

One of the real joys of the Christmas Vacation for me is getting the chance to catch up on everything. In doing so, I’ve found a very promising Ning for English teachers.

EngComp02.pngEnglish Companion is a Ning site devoted to connecting English teachers. There are plenty of other support sites out there, but English Companion is already shaping up to being a very useful and all encompassing resource. There are new discussions popping up all the time, and one of the things I really like about the site is that it is primarily about English Teaching rather than tech. There are groups devoting themselves to everything from texts to techniques, newly qualified teachers to PTs like myself.

There is also a really healthy diversity of participants involved. To my mind, this is a perfect site to introduce reluctant colleagues to the positives of online participation. They can dip their toes in the water and get a feel for the connected learning that is becoming the norm. I hope this site is going to live up to its promise, and I can see it being a good model for the sorts of resource I hope Glow will become as it too develops and grows.

Eng Comp01.png
4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2009 10:40 pm

    Saw this the other day, but forgot to join.

    Have rectified that now though!

  2. January 4, 2009 11:49 pm

    I’ll see you in there!

  3. January 5, 2009 6:20 pm

    This’ll be one of the ones blocked in schools, then?

  4. January 5, 2009 7:16 pm

    Oh how did you guess!
    I have asked for it to be unblocked (I even asked nicely!) so I’ll be interested to see:
    a) if it is unblocked, and;
    b) how long it takes for it to be so… or refused as the case may be…

    Hey ho! Back to school!

Leave a Reply

