Skip to content

7 Things Meme…

January 6, 2009

Typical, you don’t get memed for ages, and then two show up at the same time. Mind you, I’m not complaining as I’m still working on a longer post that I can put out tomorrow…

I’ve been asked by Mr Stucke, and Joe Wilson to share 7 things you may not know about me, so in no particular order:

A Very Young Me.jpg1 – I failed Higher English at school. Twice. This was not the disaster it might have been as it prevented me going to University at a time when I was far too immature and undisciplined. Now that I’ve got my Higher (and Honours Degree and Dip Ed – both Stirling), I can spot pupils like I used to be a mile off!

2 – I didn’t start guitar lessons until I was in my last year at school. 1 year later, I did my first professional ‘session’ playing for Godspell at Perth Theatre. I used to have time to practice!

3 – Apparently, I worked beside Ewan McGregor when he started at Perth Rep Theatre. I was temping as a stagehand and he was doing the same. Unfortunately, I haven’t got anything interesting to say as I don’t actually remember him — I don’t feel too bad about it as I doubt he’d remember me either!

4 – In 1976, the American Bicentennial, I helped out St Mary’s Cathedral Choir in Edinburgh on a singing tour of the United States. Highlights included getting stopped regularly for jay-walking, accidentally ending up in the basement of the Capitol Building (we’d been playing with the lift buttons) and standing at the side of the Reflecting Pool in Washington DC to watch the Bicentennial 4th July fireworks.

5 – I once almost drowned on holiday in Spain. I was very young and was struggling to get out of the undertow. A man grabbed me and pulled me out. I never thanked him.

6 – I’m a ‘friends reunited’ cliché. My partner Nikkii and I first went out a long time ago… It didn’t work out… but about 7 years ago I was persuaded by a colleague at Larbert High (my previous school) to join Friends Reunited. Within 24 hours, Nikkii got in touch with me and the rest has been a lot of fun… but we’re still a cliché!

7 – I really resent not getting the chance to know my grandfather on my dad’s side. By all accounts, he was a remarkable man: an accomplished theatre director, a man who knew where to find a pint of Guinness in Rome way before Guinness became the international brand it is now (The Vatican, in case you were wondering), and one of the very first seaborne radar operators during the Second World War.

He served on the HMS Belfast and, as well as helping find the Scharnhorst, he had some incredible photographs he took on the Murmansk convoys — ice a foot thick on the guns and decks, all of which had to be cleared off by hand in case the ship overturned.

Unfortunately, he was of a generation who believed that children weren’t worth speaking to until they were 18 and could go to the pub. I was only 14 when he died.

So, that’s my seven things, and now I ‘falling fling to the host behind’ (all 7 of them) the 7 things meme… feel free to ignore, but if you’ve time to share I’d like to hear from: Tessa Watson, Dana Huff, Gene Gordon, Lee Kolbert, Linda Hartley, Stuart Meldrum and Aloha Arleen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 10, 2009 2:37 am

    Hi!
    I JUST found this and I’m sorry I seemed to have ignored it. I think there needs to be a rule that when someone tags you in a meme, they have to tap you on the shoulder and actually tell you. I’m not good at creating feeds I guess that automatically bring these to me. Anyway, I did create this 7 Things post here: http://macmomma.blogspot.com/2009/01/7-things-youll-wish-you-didnt-know.html

    I enjoyed reading yours and learning from you on Twitter.

    Take care,
    Lee

Leave a Reply

