Skip to content

Using Different Texts

April 2, 2009

The experiences and outcomes for Literacy have been published today as part of the move to introduce a Curriculum for Excellence and they are going to need some very careful consideration. This is just the start of my posts on the outcomes, and I expect to be returning to them quite a few times over the coming weeks and months… so where to start?

different-textsFor Bill Boyd, the outcomes might just be seen as a landmark in Scottish Education. Not least because of the definition of what constitutes a text, namely:

“A text is the medium through which ideas, experiences, opinions and information can be communicated.”

There are other discussions kicking off as well, and not just about the Literacy document. Krysia has started a discussion on the Education2020 wiki and this might be a great place for you to get involved and have your say. She has asked the real question that we will have to come to terms with in the future, namely: What do we teach?

From my point of view, one of the first things I did with the Experiences and Outcomes document for Literacy was to upload the text to Wordle to see what the language of the document might tell me (You can click the picture to see the full Wordle).

There is one word that leaps out at me: different. I know that this is partly because of the wording of the document, but I also hope it demonstrates a true commitment to see change happen. I can already hear the naysayers lining up, but they are wrong. Change is needed and will happen, or we will be doing a great disservice to our children.

The pieces are all falling into place and I relish the challenge. We have set out to overhaul Scottish education and to try and make it (in the words of the accompanying Literacy and English: Principles and Practice document), “broad and future proof”.

Let change begin…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gordon Brown permalink
    April 3, 2009 9:25 pm

    Neil,

    Totally agree regarding change, and I look forward to reading your further thoughts. Now we have to work to make assessment support (real) literacy, and not the reverse.

    Regards,

    Gordon

  2. Sheila permalink
    May 26, 2009 9:00 pm

    Neil,

    I’m glad I read your blog tonight and feel quite uplifted that as a teacher you exist and are in a position to influence.
    As an Adult Literacy Teacher working with people with disabilities, I often ask myself
    ” What is it I teach?” or ” What am I teaching right now?”
    There are so many answers and these days I seem to wear many hats.

    Regards

    Sheila

Leave a Reply

