Skip to content

Feeling A Bit Billy…

April 5, 2009

Pic from LTS Website

Pic from LTS Website

There’s a great Scottish (or maybe just Perth) expression, “Billy Nae-Mates” meaning ‘one who is on his or her own, someone without friends‘. Anyway, when it comes to discussing the newly published Literacy across Learning document, that’s exactly how I feel so I’ve been a wee bit busy and would like to invite you all to join in the conversation.

I wonder if there’s anything in the timing of the publication of the Curriculum for Excellence Principles and Practice and Experiences and Outcomes documents. By making them available just before the Easter break I hope the powers that be aren’t trying to ‘bury bad news‘… I like to think it is more to allow us the holiday to read and digest all the information they contain… but most likely, it is just the first opportunity LTS had to get them published.

Whatever the reasons for the timing, the documents themselves are going to be poured over in great detail, and so they should be. After all, they are going to affect Scottish education for the foreseeable future. They will affect every person involved in Scottish education (from pupils to parents to businesses to teachers), and so we need to be clear what they are saying. To this end, I’ve started a wiki to discuss them.

greencfelogo150

Click Image to Visit the Wiki

Initially, I set out to put the Literacy documents online so I could use diigo to annotate them. Of course, diigo will allow others to see and comment on my thoughts, and more importantly, will allow others to make their own points on the documents.To further facilitate this, there is a diigo group which people are welcome to join at: http://groups.diigo.com/groups/cfe-literacy.

Finally, I’ve also added “That’s My Mouse” to the pages so anyone can have instant messaging with anyone else on the page.

The documents are important and they do raise plenty of talking points, so I hope you’ll take the time to join up and join in… that way we can all benefit! Oh, and I’ll not be quite as ‘Billied‘ as I feel at the moment!

[STOP PRESS: I’m delighted to say that Ian Stuart from Islay High School has now joined in and has posted the Technologies docs on the wiki. This makes great sense as one of the central tenets of CfE is the cross-curricular nature of learning. All we need to do now is get all the other subjects/areas on board, and also get some primary teachers, parents, librarians and even pupils involved in the discussions!]

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 7:29 pm

    Hi Neil,
    As an actual Billy, I’m just considering whether it might be worth taking out a libel action against you. On the other hand I may just join in the discussion on Literacy in Curriculum for Excellence. Great idea.

    Bill

  2. April 5, 2009 8:43 pm

    LOL!

    I’m actually a part-time Billy myself (middle name), so I suppose I’d better sue myself as well.

    I’m looking forward to there being some good discussion on the wiki/diigo. I’ve asked if Katie Barrowman (Glow) can embed the wiki in Glow, though I think it needs to be open to all as not everyone is on Glow yet…

    I think you’ve got a lot to say that we’ll need to consider so I’ m looking forward to reading your thoughts.

  3. Peter Ashe permalink
    April 6, 2009 9:06 am

    Great idea Neil,

    I was just having some initial ideas for supporting some of the health & well-being material, and was wondering how/where to share them…would it be OK if I uploaded the H&W-B docs?

    And re embedding the wiki in GLOW: if doing this means that those of us without access to that (admirable) space would be cut out of the discussion, can I lobby against this step?!

    cheers
    Peter

  4. Gordon Brown permalink
    April 6, 2009 6:15 pm

    Neil,

    This is a really good idea, and I look forward to taking part in the conversation.

    Could I add my own vote to support Peter’s view re access to Glow please?

    Gordon

  5. April 7, 2009 6:01 am

    Hi Guys… relax!
    Peter, I’ve added you to the wiki…

    The idea for embedding it in Glow was actually to make sure it was even more widely available. This wouldn’t mean losing the wiki, it would just mean Glow users could see it as an embedded webpage within Glow.

    I’m hopeful that more people will join in and bring the other Experiences and Outcomes to the wiki for discussion.

    Heop to see you all soon!

  6. April 8, 2009 7:17 am

    It’s a shame they didn’t publish them under Creative Commons (or, for that matter, that LTS don’t publish everything under Creative Commons – we started with Connected, but I imagine many folk don’t see the point and see things as ‘belonging’ to the Scottish Government, which surely means they belong to us, too. Anyway, I digress…)

    By putting them out in wiki form or Diigo form from the start, LTS could’ve encouraged a wider post-publishing consultation, with tweaks, improvements and debate. Well done for taking the lead.

  7. April 9, 2009 12:35 am

    Thanks Ewan,

    It’s actually grown more than I dared hope. We’ve got Health and Wellbeing and Science going on as well. I think I need to try and get them all on there now… it’s just a case of getting the word out as far and as widely as possible!

Leave a Reply

