Skip to content

Anyway You Want It!

September 13, 2009

As the result of a conversation with Con Morris and Margaret Alcorn, I recently accepted an offer to become an Associate of the CPD Team looking at Continuing Professional Development (CPD). Before I go any further, I thought I’d be foolish not to tap into the collected wisdom of my network to consider what you would want from your own CPD.

Picture 2.pngWhile my primary interest here is how Scottish teachers will be able to access CPD materials through Glow, I think the questions I need to consider are much wider. In my (nearly) 20 years of teaching, I have seen CPD develop from being some pretty pointless centrally delivered courses with limited relevance to my own needs, to become a cornucopia of choice with courses on just about anything and everything I might wish to consider. The real problem I have now, is how do I find the course(s) that are going to be most relevant to me and my needs… and how do I identify what those needs are in the first place?

As I see it, my task is to make the process of finding relevant CPD courses and materials for all teachers easier and more logical. I’d also like to see if it is possible to group some of the CPD into themes and bigger courses of provision… I’m aware that in some senses, I am attempting to reinvent the wheel: many colleges and universities already offer well-structured and coherent programmes of study that, as well as counting as CPD, can lead to a professional qualification. However, it is the nature of online learning today, that there are many, many courses and development opportunities that just don’t fit into a ‘traditional’ course structure.

Learning is everywhere. Literally! We can find out CPD opportunities in Scotland through development opportunities run by bodies such as the HMIe, or Learning and Teaching Scotland, or we can point our browsers further afield to the likes of the K-12 Online Conference or the Connectivism and Connective Knowledge Online Course 2009 that begins tomorrow… CPD does not have to come from one single source, nor does it have to be based in our own Local Authority, and this is, I believe, where you can help.

Your Homework!

Where do you find your CPD? Is it all centrally sourced and delivered? Are you able to choose the content you want? Do you have any areas that you wish to investigate that aren’t served by current provision? Do you want to earn formal credit for your CPD, or do you just want to learn for the sake of learning?

I’d like to know your thoughts on CPD for educators. How can Glow help you find the CPD you need or want? And even better, is there any CPD you could offer to other teachers? Please leave a comment or a question if you have any thoughts on CPD and how it can be better delivered.

Click to visit CPD Scotland

Click to visit CPD Scotland

One Comment leave one →
  1. teachtechy permalink
    September 25, 2009 6:13 pm

    Hi,

    After experiencing a BEd D&T 94-97, Higher Still Subject Seminars 99-2000, SQA PD Workshops 07-09 and Authority run course/days I think Teachmeet is the way forward as I like the random, fuzzy and un micro-managed way it develops and enthralls.

    Nick

Leave a Reply

