Skip to content

Words, Words, Words

February 19, 2012

One of the positive changes in my situation (see previous post!) is that as well as chasing some educational goals, I have more time to devote to some of my passions. I’ve pulled a guitar out of its case for the first time in over a year (can anyone say rusty?) and have the time to do some serious writing. Specifically, a novel – and I hope that the interminable process of learning to be a novelist is something I can bring to my classroom toolset.

Anyway, I have made a start on my first – and possibly only – novel tentatively entitled ‘Qui Tollis’. Depending on how well you know me, the Great War setting for part of the plot should come as no surprise. The rest will, I hope, surprise and delight you in equal measure. I’m too protective of what I’ve written so far to share it, but I promise I will and fairly soon. That said, I do have a request: if you have any relations who fought with one of the Scottish Regiments (and especially with the 51st Highland Division – Harper’s Duds), I’d love to know anything you can share about your relation. While I am working on a novel, I am determined that the historical sections should be populated by as many real people and real events as possible.

You can contact me through http://about.me/nwinton if you have anything you’d be willing to share.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2012 7:29 pm

    Although, contrary to my S4 class beliefs, I did not serve in WW1, I can get you into the museum at Fort George where there are umpteen letters, documents and pictures etc for you to peruse. The museum is closed for renovation until late Summer but there are ways in 😎 And of course you can go for a walk around the Black Watch museum….

    Saddest plague I see daily is the one on the old Drill Hall (now the library) commemorating 3842 men of the Seaforths who died in WW1. 3.5 THOUSAND men from an area that only had 25,000 population at that time. For sheer horror and the effect it had on the entire UK population WW1 has all other wars beaten.

    Glad you’re back into ‘enthusiastic mad chap who plays guitar horribly mode’ !

    • Mr W permalink
      February 19, 2012 7:38 pm

      I was reading a Tory blog that said the fact that Scotland has contributed more to the UK military as a percentage of the population, and in turn, has lost a greater proportion of her sons than any other part of the UK as a result, is a reason for us to remain in the Union. I just thought, “Oh, so you need the Scots as cannon fodder.”.

      I will almost certainly take you up on those offers. I’m an almost permanent feature in the Black Watch museum, but it’s Harper’s Duds (51st) that really interest me… Although that does include the 1/6th Black Watch.

  2. February 19, 2012 7:30 pm

    plague? Plaque! *wot an example is that fer an English teacher*

  3. February 24, 2012 1:04 pm

    Looking forward to this …. there are a couple of poems here: http://frankly-chris.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2010-12-13T13:09:00Z half-way down the page which you might like but will find of no use whatsoever!

Leave a Reply

