Skip to content

The Year Of The Diagram?

January 3, 2008

Two days in to the new year, and already my mind is reeling at the eduthinking going on. In particular, some diagrams from two different sources may help clarify some of the issues that I believe education faces this year.

The first post of the 2008 from David Warlick has him thinking about the differences between School1.0 and School2.0. Warlick says that:

I’ve been trying to reconcile some ideas about teaching and learning that I’d formulated a few years ago, with some of the shifts that have been happening since…

As part of this process, and in an attempt to bring clarity, he’s created the following diagram.

1ADD65B4-18B4-4CEE-BEF3-BCB09CCDCB5F.jpg

(Click to embiggen!)

For me, the interest lies in the easy way we can recognise the changes that he notes on the ‘School2.0’ side of the page. What he highlights is the quantity and diversity of information that is available to us today… and importantly, the realisation that, though the future may be unpredictable, we have moved to an information rich era where the means of accessing this information is easier and cheaper than at any other time in human history. This suggests that we need to re-think our approach to teaching and to school, but there is always the problem of making teachers appreciate just how big the changes are… until now!

Enter Alec Couros – Stage Left

Sometimes all it takes is a diagram to bring clarity to the process… and on page 182 (pdf version) of Alec Couros’ Doctoral thesis I found two which effectively illustrate my life before and after beginning blogging. More importantly, they are a graphic representation of the difference between School1.0 and School2.0 because Couros clearly understands the difference between what he calls “The Teacher Network” and “The Networked Teacher”:

The Teacher Network.png
The Networked Teacher.png


(Diagrams from EXAMINING THE OPEN MOVEMENT: POSSIBILITIES AND IMPLICATIONS FOR EDUCATION (pdf. p182, doc, p.172) – Reproduced under a Creative Commons License – Alec Couros, Dec 2006)

If you already know what connected learning can do for you, then you’ll recognise the diagrams. I hadn’t appreciated just how much of a connected learner/teacher I was until I recognised all the links in the second diagram… and here’s why I believe this is important for Scottish Education in particular…

2007 saw the live launch of Glow, 2008 sees it being rolled out to even more Scottish educators and learners…. and what I think Couros’ has made me realise is that Glow is going to require the teachers to move from being in a network to being networked. As a Glow mentor, I will be in a position where I will need to explain the importance of Glow and also the pedagogical shift it represents because, if Glow is to thrive, we will need educators to adopt and embrace the Social tools built into it. It will not be enough for teachers to simply say “Aye, we’ve got Glow in the school…” though I’m sure that is something we will hear all too often. No, what is needed are teachers with the will to learn and adopt and participate in the truly global wall-less world of education that Glow represents, and which so many of us have been participating in for the past few years.

I think and hope that, as (the) Glow spreads across Scotland, we will begin to hear from more and more Scottish Networked Teachers… I think that’s a suitably optimistic start to a New Year which promises so much… so what are you all optimistic about this year?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2008 12:44 pm

    Mr. Dubua… Thanks for the link to Couros’ work. The teacher is what’s missing in my diagram. I guess that it is embedded in the pedagogy clouds, but I’d really rather see the teacher up there

    With the student,

    Together,

    Engaging the the same networks of content and conversation.

    Thanks again!

  2. January 3, 2008 1:00 pm

    Thank you David!

    I think this is indicative of the changes we are facing… actually, ‘facing’ suggests that they are yet to come, but as we all need to recognise, the changes are here…

    Cheers!

  3. January 3, 2008 1:42 pm

    Happy New Year Mr Dubua ( I like that!)
    As a dyslexic I have always preferred diagrams more than text.
    One thing that struck me immediately from Couros’ diagrams is that the print/digital content changes from Unidirectional to a two way process and yet popular media stayed unidirectional. No surprise that Curriculum Documents are dictated, though they should be two way from the classroom requirements.
    I am not sure this is right.
    Popular media is desperate to get feedback from viewers and their is even TV Channels are being created specifically to do that

  4. January 3, 2008 3:36 pm

    Loving the diagrams, the Alec Couros ones are my favorites, I think they illustrate the sheer difference in knowledge and interaction between the networked and typical teacher. As you said, the diagram brings so much clarity to everything and also really makes you realize how much it affects you personally.

  5. Anne permalink
    January 3, 2008 5:10 pm

    I love it when someone else’s visuals explain my fuzzy thoughts. Sharing these ideas and mechanisms are perfect examples of what makes/will make us networked teachers…

  6. January 3, 2008 5:20 pm

    Thanks for this referral, Mr. Dubua. I’m a huge fan of Warlick’s work, so I’m happy to be referred to in the same post.

    I’m currently working on an update to these diagrams, now that they are about a year old. I’m trying to distinguish a bit better between links to tools and content vs. being connected to colleagues and students. I guess I’m moving a bit more into the object-centred sociality realm (Zengestrom). I like Warlick’s idea that the teacher is embedded with the student and pedagogy also.

    @Ian: The arrows are indicative of what I found in the study, and are not ideal. Certainly, in the last year even we’ve seen much more two-way in the mass media realm, but still nothing in curriculum (at least in my parts). The latter is what I’d love to see.

    Thanks again for linking, the new diagrams should be up in a couple of weeks or less at http://www.educationaltechnology.ca

  7. January 3, 2008 5:42 pm

    A year is a long time in media terms, at least the way they have been changing

  8. January 3, 2008 6:38 pm

    Thanks for the conversation people! One thing that strikes me from Ian’s comments is that Alec’s diagram indicates that most thngs are two way, it is the one-way streets that are (possibly) the most contentious… I’m trying to work out whether this is because we have no come to expect discussion and two-way exchanges of ideas, or because we resent the top-down heirarchy implied by no means of conversation. This is something I’m actually working on for another post at the moment…

    Again, thanks to all for the conversation… this is why we blog!

  9. goforchris permalink
    January 5, 2008 10:39 am

    Help – I’m coming late to the party! (Too much actual partying, I fear)
    I need to be able to adapt this particular set of (splendid) diagrams to fit non-school-based interaction, to tackle a bunch of people who are mostly as old as I am (or even older) that the networked world is not beyond them, is not gimmicky, is not ‘toys for the boys’ ( I know…) and who insist on squandering money we don’t have in the episcopal diocese of Argyll and The Isles on travelling to meetings in Oban. I have till the beginning of March (with trips to Madeira and las Vegas in between …;-))

  10. January 5, 2008 10:40 am

    That’s better – I was still logged in to WordPress when I wrote the above; I don’t want that persona to dominate!

  11. January 8, 2008 7:22 am

    That’s the last time I take a break over the holidays!

    Fab images, and a very worthwhile document to read – a must for everyone interested in networking in education.

    I couldn’t agree more about Glow. What interests me most in this realm is the huge number of people that are about to become involved in a much higher level of networking, who otherwise have not been interested enough to share through other means. I can’t wait to be enlightened and stimulated by a whole host of great teachers that otherwise I may not meet. So is 2008 the year for Glow?

    Much of the work done so far on CfE outcomes has in fairness been two way – the outcomes do come out for consultation. When I was in Argyll, they spent a whole day with all staff providing feedback to LTS on the content, so perhaps we are making progress on this front too?

  12. January 11, 2008 6:46 pm

    Great synthesis of Warlick and Couros, it is this kind of synthesizing and adding personal meaning that I have grown to love about the networked web… and if this is a way that we as teachers can engage in our learning it only follows suit that it would be beneficial for students too!
    Here is another diagram worthy of sharing by Jeff Utecht: What makes a well rounded teacher?

    Come And Have A Go…

  13. January 11, 2008 11:04 pm

    Hi AB!
    Alec’s diagram has given me more to think about than anything else I’ve seen in a long time… especially with Glow on the horizon for PKC. Hopefully you’ll still be able to come to TeachMeet – Perth… Lots to talk about…

    @David Truss: Thanks for the link! I’ve left a comment on the post which might interest you. I’m going to be coming back to this in a post very soon. Cheers!

  14. January 28, 2008 11:22 pm

    Neil, Happy New Year! great post: I am working with colleagues on formulating our website and ICT strategy and found these diagrams are very useful starting points for setting the vision.

    PS If you have time, visit my blog and post your top 5 albums of all time! (Mr Hood has already added his!)

  15. Steph permalink
    January 29, 2008 10:17 pm

    Even though it’s been said many times, I wanted to add that I really like the diagrams and feel it concisely and accurately illustrates where teachers need to be. Hopefully, in the near future there will be more “networked teachers.” Thank you so much for sharing that wonderful visual.

  16. August 28, 2013 11:34 pm

    I seriously love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you build this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my very own blog and would like to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Many thanks!

  17. August 30, 2013 7:11 pm

    I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you book-marked to look at new things you post…

Leave a comment